Surgical Prizes 2013

The Cutlers’ Surgical Prize for 2013, comprising The Clarke Medal and £1000 in cash, has been awarded to Professor Michael Nicholson MD, DSc, FRCS and Dr. Sarah Hosgood BSc, PhD of the University of Leicester, who have jointly developed a system of ex-vivo normothermic perfusion for kidney transplantation.

The Prize was instituted in 1981 by the late Past Master Tony Clarke to promote innovation in the design or application of surgical instruments and surgical techniques. This annual award is open to anyone who has performed outstanding work in the field of instrumentation or technical development in any branch of surgery.

The Cutlers’ Fellowship in Surgery has been awarded this year to Mr. Martin Griffiths BSc(Hons), MBBS(Hons), FRCS(Ed), FRCS(Gen.Surg.), a locum consultant trauma and vascular surgeon, who intends to visit the R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Centre in Baltimore to study techniques for the treatment of penetrative injuries and injury prevention.

The Fellowship was instituted to mark the new Millennium. The Fellowship is open to recently qualified surgeons at St. Bartholomew’s and The Royal London Hospitals, who wish to visit hospitals outside the United Kingdom, in order to study surgical techniques that are relevant to their chosen specialism.